Tagliabue, Kennedy not among Hall of Famers

TAMPA, Fla. – Career sacks leader Bruce Smith, versatile defensive back Rod Woodson and four others made the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, while former commissioner Paul Tagliabue was denied entry for the third straight year.

Joining Smith, who led Buffalo to four straight Super Bowl appearances, and Woodson are longtime Bills owner Ralph Wilson; the late Chiefs linebacker Derrick Thomas; former Minnesota guard Randall McDaniel; and the late Bob Hayes, a standout wide receiver for Dallas and the 1964 Olympic 100 meters gold medalist.

Former Seattle Seahawks defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy, a finalist for the hall, was not voted in.